Ronald Reagan Presidential Library Digital Library Collections

This is a PDF of a folder from our textual collections.

Collection: Press Secretary, Office of the: Press Releases and Briefings: Records

Folder Title: 07/19/1983 #4707 – Appointments – 12 Individuals – National Bipartisan Commission, Chairman (Kissinger)

Box: 61-Press Releases

To see more digitized collections visit: https://www.reaganlibrary.gov/archives/digitized-textual-material

To see all Ronald Reagan Presidential Library Inventories, visit: https://www.reaganlibrary.gov/archives/white-house-inventories

Contact a reference archivist at: reagan.library@nara.gov

Citation Guidelines: https://reaganlibrary.gov/archives/research-support/citation-guide

National Archives Catalogue: https://catalog.archives.gov/

Last Updated: 07/06/2023

THE WHITE HOUSE

#4707

Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release

July 19, 1983

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the National Bipartisan Commission on Central America:

Dr. Henry Kissinger, Chairman New York, New York

Nicholas F. Brady Managing Director, Dillon Read & Co., Inc. Far Hills, New Jersey

Henry G. Cisneros Mayor, San Antonio, Texas

William P. Clements, Jr. Former Governor of Texas Dallas, Texas

Dr. Carlos F. Diaz-Alejandro Professor of Economics, Yale University New Haven, Connecticut

Wilson S. Johnson President, National Federation of Independent Business San Mateo, California

Lane Kirkland President, AFL-CIO Washington, D.C.

Dr. Richard M. Scammon Political Scientist Chevy Chase, Maryland

Dr. John Silber President, Boston University Brookline, Massachusetts

Potter Stewart Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States (retired) Washington, D.C.

Ambassador Robert S. Strauss Attorney at Law Washington, D.C. William B. Walsh President, Project Hope Bethesda, Maryland

The President's Representative to the Commission will be:

Ambassador Jeane J. Kirkpatrick United States Representative to the United Nations

The Commission is bipartisan, with no more than seven of its twelve members from the same political party. In addition to the above, there will be senior counselors designated by the President. They will include two (2) Democrats recommended by the Speaker, and two (2) Republicans, recommended by the Minority Leader, from the House of Representatives, and two (2) Republicans recommended by the Majority Leader, and two (2) Democrats recommended by the Minority Leader from the United States Senate.

THE WHITE HOUSE

Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release

July 19, 1983

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the National Bipartisan Commission on Central America:

Dr. Henry Kissinger, Chairman New York, New York

Nicholas F. Brady Managing Director, Dillon Read & Co., Inc. Far Hills, New Jersey

Henry G. Cisneros Mayor, San Antonio, Texas

William P. Clements, Jr. Former Governor of Texas Dallas, Texas

Dr. Carlos F. Diaz-Alejandro Professor of Economics, Yale University New Haven, Connecticut

Wilson S. Johnson President, National Federation of Independent Business San Mateo, California

Lane Kirkland President, AFL-CIO Washington, D.C.

Dr. Richard M. Scammon Political Scientist Chevy Chase, Maryland

Dr. John Silber President, Boston University Brookline, Massachusetts

Potter Stewart
Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States (retired)
Washington, D.C.

Ambassador Robert S. Strauss Attorney at Law Washington, D.C. William B. Walsh President, Project Hope Bethesda, Maryland

The President's Representative to the Commission will be:

Ambassador Jeane J. Kirkpatrick United States Representative to the United Nations

The Commission is bipartisan, with no more than seven of its twelve members from the same political party. In addition to the above, there will be senior counselors designated by the President. They will include two (2) Democrats recommended by the Speaker, and two (2) Republicans, recommended by the Minority Leader, from the House of Representatives, and two (2) Republicans recommended by the Majority Leader, and two (2) Democrats recommended by the Minority Leader from the United States Senate.

THE WHITE HOUSE

Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release

July 19, 1983

The President today announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the National Bipartisan Commission on Central America:

Dr. Henry Kissinger, Chairman New York, New York

Nicholas F. Brady Managing Director, Dillon Read & Co., Inc. Far Hills, New Jersey

Henry G. Cisneros Mayor, San Antonio, Texas

William P. Clements, Jr. Former Governor of Texas Dallas, Texas

Dr. Carlos F. Diaz-Alejandro Professor of Economics, Yale University New Haven, Connecticut

Wilson S. Johnson President, National Federation of Independent Business San Mateo, California

Lane Kirkland
President, AFL-CIO
Washington, D.C.

Dr. Richard M. Scammon Political Scientist Chevy Chase, Maryland

Dr. John Silber President, Boston University Brookline, Massachusetts

Potter Stewart
Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States (retired)
Washington, D.C.

Ambassador Robert S. Strauss Attorney at Law Washington, D.C. William B. Walsh President, Project Hope Bethesda, Maryland

The President's Representative to the Commission will be:

Ambassador Jeane J. Kirkpatrick United States Representative to the United Nations

The Commission is bipartisan, with no more than seven of its twelve members from the same political party. In addition to the above, there will be senior counselors designated by the President. They will include two (2) Democrats recommended by the Speaker, and two (2) Republicans, recommended by the Minority Leader, from the House of Representatives, and two (2) Republicans recommended by the Majority Leader, and two (2) Democrats recommended by the Minority Leader from the United States Senate.